Milk Kefir

Homemade soy milk kefir made from active kefir grains – The delicious vegetable alternative recipe

Homemade soy milk kefir made from active kefir grains – The ingredients

Dear Kefir friends,

As I previously indicated, we are going to make kefir from plant milk today. In our example we used plant milk from soy beans. Our recommendation is to make the soymilk on your own. Because just in this case you can determine the ingredients of your soy drink. Bought products like soy, rice or oat drinks sometimes contain stabilizers, flavours and other additives which you will not find in self-made drinks. Except you add it;-)

But why is homemade plant milk (soy milk) better for the kefir grains? How is the impact on the kefir mushroom?

Buy organic milk kefir
Order your organic kefir now and start your own kefir production easy at home!

It is very simple: The mentioned artificial flavours and other additives could have an adversely affect on the kefir culture. By the way the nutritional values of kefir yoghurt made from animals milk can be different to those made from plant milk.

If you buy kefir grains and make a batch according to the original recipe the culture will grow. If you use plant milk for making kefir yoghurt it will not.

Is kefir made from plant milk vegan, healthy and has the same effect like ordinary kefir?

This issue leaves us divided. I have talked to many vegan’s. Some state, that this kefir is definitely not vegan because the kefir grains are grown with cow’s milk. Others are not so strict and say it is okay.

But how do I make vegan kefir from plant milk?

At this point I prefer some kefir ferments. Sometimes we have it in stock, just look here in our shop*. If not please click here and order*. If you buy kefir ferment it is important to pay attention to the ingredients of the powder. There shouldn’t be milk powder on the list. Inulin is a good alternative and makes sure, that the vegan kefir remains vegan;-) Just click on the link above to make sure purchasing the right one:-)

Just as a quick reminder: Click here for the article – how to make homemade soy milk respectively plant milk.

In my recipes I use a Vitamix which you can order here*

Vitamix
-> Vitamix – order here*

But now let’s start with the recipe:-)

For this easy soy milk kefir you need those ingredients:

      • 500ml homemade soy milk
      • 8gr organic milk kefir grains



Buy organic milk kefir
Order your organic kefir now and start your own kefir production easy at home!

Do you have everything? This is how to make your own soy milk kefir!

  1. Add kefir grains and soy milk to the container.
  2. Let it ferment for 1 – 3 days! The fermentation duration depends on your personal taste as well as the temperature in your house. Probably check the taste occasionally.
  3. Stir the soy milk with a plastic spoon.
  4. Separate the soy drink from the kefir grains.
  5. Wash the utensils as well as the grains. (You can also continue without washing the grains and make a new batch)
  6. …and now: enjoy

(Deutsch) Soja Milch Kefir selber machen

Print Recipe
Serves: 2 Cooking Time: 10 min

Ingredients

  • 500ml homemade soy milk
  • 8g organic milk kefir grains

Instructions

1

Add kefir grains and soy milk to the container

2

Let it ferment for 1 - 3 days! The fermentation duration depends on your personal taste as well as the temperature in your house. Probably check the taste occasionally.

3

Stir the soy milk with a plastic spoon

4

Separate the soy drink from the kefir grains

5

5. Wash the utensils as well as the grains. (You can also continue without washing the grains and make a new batch)

I wish you a lot of fun by making soy milk kefir and I am very excited to hear your opinions about this delicious kefir recipe.

I would love to see some comments about your favourite recipes with milk kefir and how you liked mine.

I am looking forward to see you again for my next recipes.

Petra

Watch also this video and many more regarding Kefir and Kombucha on my Youtube channel…

* This is an Affiliate-Link – Affiliate-Links are sponsored Links

Ingredient parlor

Simply click here for all the tasty stuff

7 Comments

  • Reply
    Susanne Häger
    Friday November 22nd, 2019 at 12:48 PM

    Hallo,
    ich hatte mir vor 2 Jahren einen Milchkefirpilz gekauft, und da ich vegan lebe, nur mit Sojamilch (selbst hergestellt) angesetzt. Der Kefir schmeckt super, aber die Pilze sind in dieser Zeit fast gar nicht gewachsen.
    Können Sie mir sagen, welcher Stoff bei mir fehlt, damit die Knollen wachsen, oder hat das einen bestimmten Grund?
    Danke und viele Grüße,
    Susanne Häger

    • Reply
      Petra
      Saturday November 23rd, 2019 at 11:31 AM

      Liebe Susanne,

      vielen Dank für Ihren Kommentar.

      Der Kefir benötigt zum wachsen grundsätzlich Laktose (Milchzucker). In Sojamilch ist dieser nicht enthalten. Wenn die Kultur wachsen soll muss Sie eine gewisse Zeit mit tierischer Milch “gefüttert” werden.

      Herzliche Grüße und einen wundervollen Tag senden Ihnen

      Petra & Stephan Kriegener

  • Reply
    Alina
    Friday January 31st, 2020 at 01:37 PM

    Hallo,
    kann ich einfach zwischen Kuhmilch und Sojamilch wechseln oder muss ich dabei etwas beachten, damit meine Knollen das vertragen?

    Liebe Grüße!

    • Reply
      Petra
      Saturday February 1st, 2020 at 06:24 PM

      Hallo Alina,

      vielen Dank für Ihren Kommentar:-)

      Die Knollen werden traditionell in Kuhmilch gezüchtet. Sie können auch aus Sojamilch (Sojadrink) Sojakefir herstellen. Je nachdem wie robust Ihre Kultur ist müssen die Knollen nach ein paar Ansätzen Sojamilch wieder in tierischer Milch wie Kuhmilch “baden”.

      Liebe Grüße

      Petra & Stephan Kriegener

  • Reply
    hcgtcbmuh
    Thursday February 13th, 2020 at 08:54 AM

    I benefit from reading your site. Thanks a ton!

  • Reply
    Lukas
    Sunday February 16th, 2020 at 10:45 PM

    Toller Blogbeitrag!
    Nun frage ich mich:
    1) Geben in Milch gezüchtete Kefirknollen, Milchbestandteile ab, wenn sie in Pflanzenmilch fermentiert werden oder ist das Ergebnis dann 100% milchfrei (möglicherweise auch erst nach mehrmaliger „milchfreier“ Fermentation ?
    2) Darüber hinaus – kann es gelingen, dauerhaft Kefirknollen in Soja- oder Hafermilch zu erhalten oder ist es zwingend notwendig die Knollen ab und an in Kuhmilch zu baden?

    Vielen Dank im Voraus 🙂

    • Reply
      Petra
      Monday February 17th, 2020 at 04:12 PM

      Lieber Lukas,

      vielen Dank für Ihren Kommentar:-)

      Gern beantworten wir Ihnen Ihre Fragen!

      1) Es kann wohl nicht vermieden werden, dass die Milchkefirknollen während der Fermentation in Pflanzenmilch auch geringe Bestandteile von Milch / Milchprodukten abgeben.

      2) Dauerhaft nur mit Pflanzenmilch funktioniert leider nicht. Ab und an brauchen die Knollen ihre Milch.

      Durch die Nutzung von echten Kefirknollen bekommt man leider nur einen Semi-veganen Kefir. Aber bei ganz strikten Veganern wäre die Nutzung einer in Kuhmilch gezüchteten Kefirknolle wohl ohnehin nicht akzeptabel.

      Wir wünschen weiterhin viel Freude beim Kefir selber machen:-)

      Liebe Grüße

      Petra & Stephan Kriegener

    Leave a Reply